CWSAA Competitor Pass Qualifications / Guidelines


The Canada West Ski Areas Association believes that deserving young Ski and Snowboard athletes should be given all the support possible to reach their goal to one day represent Canada in Olympic Games, World Championships or World Cups. For this reason CWSAA created the All Areas Competitors Pass to facilitate eligible athletes access to western Canada's Ski and Snowboard Resorts for the purpose of training and competition.

All athletes must understand that the use of the competitors pass is a privilege that carries with it the responsibility to represent their respective Sports Discipline in a sportsman-like fashion, showing leadership to their fellow athletes.

Who will qualify for a pass in the 2014/2015 season?

1. Competitors belonging to an Accredited National Sports Body in a CWSAA Province or Territory, promoting the sports of Alpine Ski Racing, Ski Cross, Freestyle Skiing and Snowboarding. 'Accredited' means the sports body is representing Canada in Olympic, World Championship and World Cup Competitions.

2. All athletes must be must be actively training and competing in disciplines that are part of the Olympic Games, World Championships and World Cups.

3. All athletes must meet the following age eligibility rules for 2014/2015
• Alpine Skiing athletes and Ski Cross must be born between 1994 and 1998
• Freestyle Skiing athletes not including Ski Cross must be born between 1995 and 1999
• Snowboard athletes in Alpine, Snowboard Cross and Big Air must be born between 1995 and 1999
• Snowboard athletes in Half Pipe and Slopestyle must be born between 1997 and 2001

Special consideration may be given to athletes 2 years over the base age range with a letter from their respective National Sports Organization confirming that the athlete is under serious consideration for nomination to their National Team in the upcoming competition year.

4. There are no restrictions for carded members of the Canadian Disabled Ski or Snowboard Team who are permanent residents in one of the Provinces that are part of CWSAA.

5. Travelling Provincial and Club Coaches or Provincial Team Managers may also qualify.

Additional Guidelines to be considered for Qualification
1. Athletes must be full and active members of a Ski Racing, Ski Cross, Freestyle or Snowboard Club in one of the CWSAA Provinces or Territories.
2. All athletes must be FIS point holders, or have applied for and be eligible for FIS registration and hold a FIS card at the start of the competition year.
3. Athletes belonging to a Club or attending a Sports Academy or National Sports School located in one of the CWSAA Provinces, but not normally residing in one of those Provinces are eligible to receive a Competitors Pass from the quota of the Province in which they are training and competing.
4. Coaches' passes will generally be issued to coaches of Teams or Clubs that have competitors competing nationally in FIS level events first, followed by Provincial or Regional Junior Series. Coaches' passes are taken from the total provincial quota for athletes, therefore they should be held to the absolute minimum.
5. CWSAA PROVINCES include: British Columbia, Yukon, Alberta, Saskatchewan, The Northwest Territories and Manitoba.
6. Ski Cross athletes who are eligible for a CWSAA Competitors pass will be the responsibility of their respective Provincial or Territorial Alpine Ski Association's quota.
7. Developing sports organizations who do not currently field eligible athletes may apply for special consideration for Competitor Passes by providing a written submission to the Chairman of the CWSAA Competitor Pass Committee including their athlete development plan and reasons why their athletes will require Canada West access to ski areas.

Pass Distribution to Provincial Sports Organizations

Provincial Sports Organizations (PSO's) must be CWSAA Members to apply for Racer Passes.

The distribution of the competitors' passes is based solely on the number of eligible FIS registered athletes by Province or Territory in each of the sports disciplines.

PSO's should submit their list of FIS registered athletes including each athlete's FIS points (where applicable) and date of birth to the CWSAA office no later than August 22, 2014.

Each provincial discipline will get their percentage of passes based on eligible requests submitted by all Provincial Sports Organizations and out of the total number of passes approved for distribution.


1. An athlete who was disciplined for pass infractions or other disciplinary issues at a host ski area such as breach of the Alpine Skier/Rider Responsibility Code or who has received sanctions by their PSO may have their Competitor Pass privilege cancelled immediately and may be automatically disqualified from purchasing the All Area Competitors Passes in future years.

2. Athletes who, during the course of the competition season discontinue participating in competitions or the regularly scheduled training programs of their teams, except due to injury, must return their pass to the respective Provincial Governing Body forthwith; a prorated refund will be given less a non‐refundable handling charge. Failure to return these passes will be considered fraud and is just cause for prosecution.

Furthermore any governing body that does not properly monitor its athletes or that knowingly allows athletes to continue using the pass against the above rule will jeopardize their eligibility for future competitor passes.

3. It is within the rights of the Provincial Governing Bodies to disqualify an athlete for other disciplinary reasons besides pass infractions. The cancellation of the All‐Area Competitors Pass may be one of the disciplinary actions open to them.

List of Olympic, World Championship and World Cup Disciplines:


Note: * World Cup & World Championships only

Last Revision:  May 2014

White Cube 20 x 20.jpg
Small RMR 2010 2011 Season 119.jpg
Small IMG 7958 RMR Zoya Lynch 2011 12.jpg
Small Feb23 NorthBowl 2 RMR John Antoniuk.jpg
peppermint oil and mice . truck accident lawyer . see this